Lens Travels - Living our Dreams! travel blog


Bisbee City Hall

St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church - Built 1917

Stunning windows

Very tall stain glass windows


Beautiful sanctuary

Where we camped

Lavender Pit

View from Queen Mine RV Park

Looking towards town from Queens Mine RV park

Historical Museum

Post Office on Main St.

Lots of shops on Main Street



Over a 1000 stairs in this town



Stated with style

Cooper roof on this charming home


A colorful town

Nest shoe in a Saguaro

Known as the Circus

From Len to Nancy



One of a kind!

Designated Motorcycle Parking Sign

A Bisbee Landmark





Tunnel down into the pit

Side view of tunnel


Colorful pool of "stuff" at the bottom

Tower above the pit

More tunnels


Beautiful colors and textures


The Lavender Pit is part of the Copper Queen Mine, run by the Phelps Dodge Corporation from 1879 to 1975. Mining took place in underground tunnels and shafts until 1951 when it was determined by Harrison Lavender, the then-manager of the Copper Queen Branch of Phelps Dodge, that an open pit mine would be an economical way to increase ore yield. The resulting Lavender Pit was mined in 50 foot benches created by loading holes drilled to a 60-foot depth with 1,200 pounds of powder charge. Blasts commonly broke 75,000 tons of rock and were usually shot at 3:25 each afternoon. Mining in the pit stopped in 1974 and all mining operation ceased in the Copper Queen Mine in 1975 when the price of copper plummeted. The abandoned pit covers 300 acres, is 950 feet deep, and is a result of the removal of 351 million tons of material. Since mining operations ceased, the town of Bisbee reinvented itself as an artist community and historical tourist destination. During this reinvention, the Lavender Pit became a tourist destination with rim viewing platforms and guided tours. The Queen Mine RV Park we stayed at was perched right above the Lavender Pit.

Saturday night the town had an arts festival from 6 to 8pm with many of the shops being opened with snacks and music. It was fun to explore the town at night with it all lit up. We also visited the Cooper Queen Hotel. Loved the old pictures of the town throughout the lobby. In the early 1900's there were over 20,000 people in this little town. It was a happening place back in the day! Now a days, It is a fun town to explore, day or night!

Entry Rating:     Why ratings?
Please Rate:  
Thank you for voting!
Share |