Prior to the coming of the white people the Taungurung people occupied a vast area along the catchments of the Goulburn River including this area we now know as Seymour. In 1836 Major Mitchell crossed the Goulburn at Mitchellstown, soon after overlanders and early settlers began to use this crossing place. The town was named after Lord Seymour, the son of the 11th Duke of Somerset.
The Vietnam Commemorate Walk to be established in High Street will commemorate the service of all 62,100 Australians who played their part in what was a tumultuous time in Australian History.
Now being used by community groups and the Information Centre the old court house was built in 1864 at a cost of 783 pounds. The old courthouse was used as a Magistrate Court until the new Court house was opened in 1973.
Originally built on the banks of the Goulburn River in 1853 the log cabin lock up was used until 1962 when a new police station was built. It was relocated to its present site in 1994.
Now being used as a restaurant and Gallery the Post Office was built in 1872 and remained so until 1911 when a new post office was built. It was used by the Light Horse from 1914. Later it was used as a Land Force Office and recruitment centre for World War II and the Korean War.
The Royal Hotel was a centre of community activities. In 1910 Bessie Moody inherited control and it was featured in Russell Drysdale painting 'Moodys Pub' The old stables at the rear were used in the days of Cobb and Co.
The first bridge was built in 1862-63. It was a low level bridge and Hanna had a toll gate at the foot of Manse Hill until 1867 when it was purchased by the government. A new bridge was constructed in 1892. In 1967 a new bridge was built and moved further upstream. The old bridge continued to serve as the crossing for the traffic to Puckapunyal until the building of the Hume freeway in 1982.
Tomorrow we will move onto Albury